Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

Hummingbird Wings
Hummingbird Wings, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<
amazing swiftness
forms wisps of elegant swirls
hummingbird flight
>>:::<<

This is a black-chinned hummingbird at one of our feeders.  I normally photograph hummingbirds at high shutter speeds, but for this photo, I decreased the speed to 1/60.  It makes for an overall blurred photo of the hummingbird in flight, but I like how it captured the motion of the wings.

The photo below is one I posted last autumn of a mule deer buck in our yard chasing after a doe during the rutting season.  He is running FAST!

Huntin' for Lovin'
Huntin’ for Lovin’, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge is to share a photo that means MOVEMENT to you.

43 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement

  1. I really see two very different forms of love-making here! The bird just loving the nourishment from that blossom, actually entering into partnership for life-sustainment with that flower! And that fast buck is surely going to get his woman! Life goes on!

  2. Love the hummingbird photo. I shot hummingbirds all last summer with only one or two shots that I liked. My feeders are in a different spot this year. The first time I set up my tripod, the shot was decent but the sound of the shutter frightened the birds away. Still trying to figure out best time/light/setup to get a great capture. Meanwhile, I’m taunted by the birds who always seem to fly within an arm’s length of me when I don’t have my camera available.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement- How to clean your lizard « Ben Williams' World

  5. This is an amazing shot! I love how you manged to get the focus on the face and antlers when all else was showing speed of movement! Beautiful! Thank you for visiting me today, Lynda

  6. Both are beautiful pictures. The one of the hummingbird is simply stunning, and I agree with you that shooting with a slow shutter speed captured the movements of the wing in a telling way. At the same time the flash you must have used freezes the bird. The other picture of the deer is for me more artistic and rendered in a more personal way. Thus this is my favourite. As always from you, it’s excellent work. (And by the way sorry for having been absent lately, I just haven’t had time to comment the last couple of weeks).

  7. Pingback: BlogWorld ~ musings from Brooklyn | Marina Chetner

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement | Wind Against Current

  9. At a photography seminar a couple of months ago, one of the attendees asked about freezing motion in hummingbird wings. She said she had used shutter speeds up to 1/2000 and the tips of the wings still showed motion. Same with me. The instructor said that the best way to freeze all motion is to use flash.

Thanks so much for your comments!

