My first haiga

Yesterday I posted a photo and haiku in my primary blog, Ichigo Ichie, to represent the concept of Flow psychology.  Here, I thought I would make a bit of a change to the photo.  For the first time, I am trying haiga.  I understand that traditional Japanese haiga typically combined brush artwork with a haiku in calligraphy, using the same brush and ink.  Some of the modern forms of haiga combine digital art with haiku as one image.  So, that is the kind of haiga I am attempting here – digital art haiku, inspired by the 19 Planets Art Blog call.  It was not as simple as it may appear.  My first attempt took a little time to determine the placement of the words, the font and font size.  I have an appreciation for people who can combine the art and the words to create an aesthetically pleasing image.

Skipper Haiga
Skipper Haiga, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.
(click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<

Flow with the river

Float on the breeze, Bathe in bliss

Notice nothing else

>>:::<<

12 responses to “My first haiga

  1. aloha Fergiemoto – cool. yeah, current thinking in our western world (and a lot of the eastern world too) has broadened the concept of haiga in a number of ways. which i happen to like. …altho i like traditional haiga too.

    i think your image and words work quite well together. it is a challenge, i agree. haiku on it’s own is a challenge as well… my hope is that i’ll get better and better at it as long as i keep trying. i’d say you’re off to a great start – way ahead of where i first started. cool. and fun. and thanks for playing – aloha.

  2. “I have an appreciation for people who can combine the art and the words to create an aesthetically pleasing image.”
    Quite a goal, but well worth the effort. And quite a stimulus to creativity!

Thanks so much for your comments!

