Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

A Triple Opportunity - textured
A Triple Opportunity – textured, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.
(click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<

Entranced papillon

Buddy arrives, then comrade

Opportunity

>>:::<<

Papillon = French word for butterfly

I took this photo when I first noticed skipper butterflies (the brown one) arriving in our garden.  There were many of these cute little creatures fluttering about and my goal was to capture a macro shot.  I like the amusing angle of this skipper because it looks like it has a cigarette in its mouth!  As I was getting ready to shoot, I saw another butterfly enter my view, so I backed off and reframed to capture it.  I had to act fast.  Then when I loaded the photo into my computer, I saw another insect had entered the frame as well.  It wasn’t as obvious at first, but he’s there – a little black bee caught in midair as it was approaching a blossom.  It was pure opportunity…..being in the right place at the right time.

Originally the background was too cluttered and noisy for me, and the bee was hardly noticeable.  I tried out a few textures, softened and lightened the background, and finally opted for the one I posted above.  The original photo is below (click on the image to enlarge).  Either way, I’m pleased to have this fortunate shot.

A Triple Opportunity - original photo

30 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

  1. This photo is wonderful and captured in a moment of instant beauty. I admit I didn’t see that little bee on the flowers edge straight away. I love your texture work, and butterflies are a favourite of mine.Just perfect. I heART it!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity « Thirdhandart's Weblog

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity | dadirridreaming

  4. This is an amazing shot. And you brought the best out of it in post-production. By blurring some of the background you brought forward the three elements, the butterfly and the bee sharp in the foreground and the blurred butterfly in the background. The butterfly in the background really adds depth to the picture. Wonderful, soft colours by the way.

  5. What an opportunity! The ones nature offers are always waiting for the (patient) observer.

    Absolutely lovely! I think you reworked the photo perfectly and the poem is a perfectly shaped accompaniment.

  6. Sometimes luck does play a part, however it is recognising the potential of a shot and then converting it so that the emotion of the photographer at the time becomes clear for the viewer. With this you have been very successful, not only in the composition but in the use of post processing to bring out that emotion.

Thanks so much for your comments!

