Textures – Another ‘After’ and ‘Before’ Images

I like experimenting with photomanipulation, as you can see from some of my postings. Recently, I’ve been toying with textures. Sometimes they make a dramatic change to a photo, and sometimes they only make a subtle change.  A texture can even take advantage of a blurry photo or a mistake and turn it into an interesting image.  It’s a hit-and-miss exercise to see what looks more appealing – the original photo or the textured photo.  But it’s still fun to try!

Some of the textures I’ve used are from Kim Klassen’s Café Blog. Last week, I participated in her Texture Tuesday Challenge for the first time. This week’s challenge involves using two of her textures in a photo. Here are the after and before versions:

Anger
Anger, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.
(click on photo to enlarge)

This is MY pad!
This is MY pad!, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.
(click on photo to enlarge)

In this case, applying the textures (top photo)  lightened and softened the middle of the flower even though the overall photo has a grungy look. The lightening is slight, but still noticeable. I intentionally left more of the texture exposed along the edges to create a frame. Personally, I could go either way. There are characteristics in both photos that I like.

(I initially posted the textured photo above in my other blog, Ichigo Ichie.  For the story behind the photo and the haiku, click here.)   This is the haiku associated with the photo:

>>:::<<

Passionate lava

Erupts through delicate veins

Withering cyclone

>>:::<<

15 responses to “Textures – Another ‘After’ and ‘Before’ Images

  1. I might be the only one here, but I like the before version more than the after 🙂

    not to say that the after-effect is not cool.I like them both but the before version takes the edge, only slightly !

    • Actually, I’m with you. I like them both but definitely the before version better. I feel the texture in the after version is a little distracting from the star of the image — the tension mood between the two bees. 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!

