Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

Whirlwind - Haiga
Whirlwind – Haiga, a photomanipulation by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on image to enlarge)

I posted this image a few months ago on another blog, but it also represents what happened yesterday in our area, “waiting out the wicked winds.”  We experienced the equivalent of level 2 hurricane force winds and our city alone had 92 mile-per-hour gusts. Three miles down the road, the next city, which was hit the hardest in our state, had 102 MPH winds and declared a state of emergency.  The local news reported our cities looked like a warzone with large debris flying and landing everywhere, hundreds of large trees uprooted, power lines down, semi-trucks overturned on the interstate, damage to buildings, property and vehicles, etc., etc.

The winds started shortly after 1:00 a.m. Thursday and lasted until about 4:00 pm.  During the storm, I could feel the house shaking, windows rattling and could hear the wind howling VERY loudly.  Looking out our windows, I saw roof shingles being ripped off houses and flying all around us.  I saw sheets of metal roofing literally peeled off a house as if they were paper and carried away in the storm.  I saw trees bent over from the force of the winds.  We have many trees surrounding us.  We lost power and heat for the day, so I was bundled in several layers of clothing and blankets to keep warm.  There were reports of injuries, but no one who I know of was injured.

The last time we had winds this forceful was in 1999.  Thousands are still left without power right now, and cleanup efforts are well underway.

As far as the photo, I added a swirl effect to the background and kept the bee clear to give it a whirlwind look.

36 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Waiting

  1. This picture is really cleverly done and I definitely feel the whirlwind.

    I am so pleased you are safe, it must have been very frightening. The power of the wind, and other elements too, leaves me feeling very insignificant and humble and with the knowledge that the only control I have in this life is over myself and the way I choose to live. Your post brought to mind the following:-

    “God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things
    I cannot change,
    courage to change the things I can
    and wisdom to know the difference”

    Christine

  2. mother nature’s wrath can be harsh, the yin and the yang, good days and bad, hot days and cold, tie a knot in your rope and hang in there. (~_~) oh, by the way, loved the photo with words of wisdom!

  3. So glad YOU are safe enough to post this most evocative photo here today. We all seem to be little busy bees in the whirlwinds of our days and in the thoughts in our own minds, sometimes, do we not? Pardon my jumping into the symbolish of a hurrican/whirlwinds so quickly and moving away from the safety issues of you and your neighbors! It was just that your photo and the superimposed words thereon speak to me so deeply. Thank you and bless you.

  4. So glad you are safe! With those winds battering your world for quite a few hours it must’ve been pretty scary.

    Those whirlwinds catch us, don’t they, even when we think we are in an endless calm or as centered as the bee in our purpose and tasks?

    We can only anchor ourselves so much. There is always the unexpected, but looks like the bee in your photo is steadying itself to get through it.

    Thanks for sharing such a creative image and lovely positive thoughts after your ordeal.

    Continue to keep well.

  5. Beautiful and haunting photo. It reminds me of what life can be to any of us in certain situations. Sorry about the hurricane. I know by experience how devastating it can be. The fear, the anticipation, the uncertainty, the feeling of helplessness, the chaos and so much more. I hope that with God’s grace and the generosity of friends and family, all hardships will be over soon and everyone can just have a truly Merry Christmas. Thanks for a post with so much to give.

  6. I’m so glad to hear you’re ‘waiting’ it out okay! Take care and be careful!

    On a different note, I was looking at using a photo of a bee for my photo challenge for this topic. : )

  7. Oh, My God… I am glad too you are safe! Be careful Fergie, this is really so scary. I loved your haiku and your photograph and also the effect… It really gives the motion… Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

Thanks so much for your comments!

