Q! Challenge: Quick and Quote

Quick
Quick, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (Click on image to enlarge).


Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.

~Lao Tzu

This insect was too quick for me to capture a shot of it in flight.  That was my intent.  The two shots above were taken back-to-back during continuous shooting, and I thought I had captured what I wanted.  Nature may not have been in a hurry, but I wasn’t quick enough with my camera.  Oh well, maybe next time.

Does anyone know the name of this insect?  I’ve been calling it an unspotted ladybug because I can’t find what it is.  It is about twice the size of any ladybug I’ve seen.

This post is for the “Q” Challenge by Frizztext (“Q” is for Quick and Quote)

38 responses to “Q! Challenge: Quick and Quote

  1. Great capture – I know just how hard it can be to photograph little insects. You’ve got to be quick.

  2. Wow! A beauty for sure and what a stunning shot Fergie. Now idea what it’s called either but great shots. 🙂
    *hugs*

  3. Too bad you couldn’t get a photo of the takeoff but I’m impressed that you got the first photo. I know how hard it is to snap one. They are speedy. Great shot.

  4. I was going to say – looks like a type of ladybird but I think someone’s got the id covered further up the comments. Insects can be really difficult to catch in the moment of lift off – which is why the professionals do it with captives in a tank 😉 You’ve got a great shot of it preparing to go and the composition is spot on – contrasting the smoothness of the carapace with the rough wood.

  5. I would have guessed this little fellow to be a lady bug, perhaps a rare species of a lady bug? The only lady bugs I’ve ever seen have spots, although some are more gold, or orangy, than red, but I think that has to do with gender? Either way, I like your photos of speedy gonzales there, and then, not there . 😉

  6. A fun combination and well done! In the first photo you have really caught the ladybug on her toes ready to go. Beautiful! Your use of depth of fields is excellent.

Thanks so much for your comments!

