S! Challenge: SuperMoon Scrapbook Shot

SuperMoon
SuperMoon, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (Click on image to enlarge).

>>:::<<
cradled in my hands
a radiant crystal ball
supermoon
>>:::<<

The image above of last Saturday’s SuperMoon was a fun project to work on.  For the photos, I used a 300mm zoom, a fast shutter speed, and underexposed the shots to avoid getting just a big white glowing blob in my picture.

First, I took five separate photos of the SuperMoon.  I adjusted my camera to the settings I preferred, secured the camera on my tripod and took the five photos at predetermined intervals without repositioning the camera.  The first moon photo I took is on the left.  Five minutes later, I took the second shot.  The last three shots were taken one minute apart from each other.

Using Photoshop Elements, I merged the five shots together to create one photo showing the progression of the moon’s position over the eight minute period.  Then I used a “distort” effect to make the image look curled.  Thanks to Gracie for inspiration on the curled photo effect and for pointing us to the tutorial at Holly’s blog.  (Head over to Gracie’s Frames and Focus blog to see some of her lovely photos and effects.  Also, check out the Photo by Holly blog for some great tutorials.)

Last, I used a textured background and scattered some images of old photo corners around the photo to create the look of an in-process scrapbook page.

Do you have any tips you would like to share for taking good photos of the moon?

.

This post is for the “S” Challenge by Frizztext (“S” is for SuperMoon, Scrapbook, Shot)

48 responses to “S! Challenge: SuperMoon Scrapbook Shot

  1. Pingback: A-Z Archive: S! Challenge | Shadow and Silhouette | Blog Kemaren Siang

  2. Whoa! Wowzers! Cool beans! And no, I have nothing to offer about moon shots, LOL! I think you have it handled, although there is always more to learn I suppose you photoshop queen! Margie

  3. Of course you would make this into something very special!
    I’m cross, I seem to be the only person on the planet that didn’t know until after the event!

  4. Nothing but a stunning image of the supermoon. You created something special with your time-lapse approach to the event. And the whole graphic expression enhances the scientific look. Such a crisp and insightful image. Interestingly, though, the way you chose to shoot the intervals and how you faded the last moon pictures into the whole, its seems like the moon is moving from right to left in the picture. You ask for any tips for taking good photos of the moon. Well after seeing this picture, nothing will do it any better. Great work!

  5. Thank you for creating this wonderful image…and for explaining how it was done. I always find such things most interesting!

    We had an excellent view of the super moon from our living room window, to the south, low and brilliant through the trees. It was a magical sight!

  6. I like what you did. Interesting that you used a fast shutter speed. Were you using a high ISO, too, then?

    I usually set the ISO to 100 and then use a longer shutter speed to get the detail in the moon. I think I used 1 second for the super moon.

    • Thanks. I tried the slower shutter speeds, even 1 second, but I got a big bright blob with no detail. I tried several settings and the the best result was with a faster shutter speed above 500 and exposure value reduced by 1.0. The ISO was on the lowest setting in my camera.

Thanks so much for your comments!

