“D” Challenge: Details, Dahlietta

Dahlietta macro
Dahlietta macro, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)
Linking up with Your Sunday BestMacro MondayTexture Tuesday,  Tuesday Tips and Pics, and Nature Notes.

>>:::<<
seemingly trivial
yet vital to the whole
notice the details
>>:::<<

This is a Dahlietta flower that we planted outside in our yard, which is a hybrid and smaller than a regular dahlia bloom.  For this macro image, I wanted to focus on the small, but important details of the center flower pistils.  (Also, the original color was a brighter orange, so I applied a texture to the photo to soften the overall colors.)
.

This is for the letter “D” Story Challenge by Frizztext, to share a short story or reflection, even an aphorism using a word tagged with each letter of the alphabet.
Kim Klassen texture used is ‘pumpkin grunge’

43 responses to ““D” Challenge: Details, Dahlietta

  1. I love the soft pastel color, Fergie. The texture you added really worked well with the photo. I also really like the details. Beautiful over-all.

  2. I love how to did focus on the details. Sometimes we don’t take the time to look at all the small details of flowers. I like the color effect and some day I will learn how to do that myself..you do take amazing photos…Michelle

  3. Beautiful. I love the macro view. I think about this sometimes with broccoli, of all things. A close up look, and you have a forrest of little green trees. Glad I stumbled here this morning!

  4. Such tender and soft tones and colours. It’s almost as I am inside the Dahlia. The light brings the petals of the beautiful flower to all my senses’ awareness. I love the use of limited depth of field in the picture. As always a delightful photograph.

Thanks so much for your comments!

