Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

Progression
Progression, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)
Linking up with Texture Tuesday, Nature Notes, Tuesday Tips and Pics, Rural Thursday, Flower Art Friday

>>:::<<
bouquet of rubies
floating atop emeralds
romantic red tulips
>>:::<<

These photos, which I took in our yard, show three different “growth” stages of the same tulip blooms.  Three years ago (which is a different year than when these photos were taken) these same tulips reached a maximum height of 3 feet, just less than 1 meter!  What a growth spurt!

Yesterday, when I was searching for the symbolism of the red tulip, I found that it means “perfect love” or “true love” and is the 11th wedding anniversary flower.  Coincidentally, hubby and I celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary this past weekend – another representation of “growth!”

This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge is to share a picture
that means GROWTH to you!

References:

51 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Growth

  1. Totally perfect example of “growth”! Because tulips are a little iffy in some areas of the Deep South, USA, (and I am a Mississippi farmgirl!), I have always been very much in awe of their growth and their special type of uniform beauty.

  2. I like the tulips – I like the wood teir planters which gives them drama – the growth stages of the tulips. Congratulations on 11 years. Jim (mhdriver)

  3. i love the serendipity of the meaning and your anniversary – congraulations! Fabulous photos – well done on capturing them. My birth stone is a ruby, and I do love emeralds 🙂 Lovely words!

  4. love the layers with the tulips getting thinner as they go upward a level.At first I thought it was one picture. Didn’t know that about tulips being linked to love. I like their smell and like the poem.

  5. Happy anniversary and what a lovely photo subject to use for this time. Your tulips look beautiful.
    Clever of you to shoot the same bed of flowers at different stages of flowering.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challnge : “Growth” « Just another wake-up call

  7. I too love the interpretation of growth with your lovely poetry..Happy Happy Anniversary to you and your husband and many..many more!!! Love the tulips and to follow them over time is neat..Great post for Nature Notes and thank you for your kind comments on my blog..I so appreciate them..Michelle

  8. I love tracking the growth and change of plants also. Delightful. We can’t grow tulips well here as it’s too hot, but it hasn’t stopped me trying some in a pot this winter.

    Happy anniversary too!

  9. Tulip sequence-Love it! good planning ahead.
    Thanks for coming by Bridgit’s Bell. The shape of this goddess is stirring on a primeval level. I also have a candle made in this shape.

  10. Belated congratulations on your anniversary! Blessings for a long life together … you and your hubby sound so bonded in your interests and sensibilities.

    I always love to watch the progression of flowers from their budding to full flowering stage, although I hate to see them withering … saying that, sometimes their seed heads are very beautiful too.

Thanks so much for your comments!

