Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement / Robin

Robins Bath 01
Robins Bath 01, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

This is an American Robin who loves taking dips in the birdbath. He has established an almost daily bathing ritual, and is quite fun to watch.

Here he was this morning, back for his usual bath.  I hope you enjoy the photos!

Robins Bath 02
.
Robins Bath 03
.
Robins Bath 04
.
Robins Bath 05
.
Robins Bath 06
.
Robins Bath 07
.
Robins Bath 08
.
Robins Bath 09
.
Robins Bath 10
.
Robins Bath 11
.
Robins Bath 12
.
Robins Bath 13
.
Robins Bath 14
.
Robins Bath 15
“Ahhh…now that was a refreshing bath!”

.

These photos are for the Wild Weekly Photo Challenge, and for the
“Tagged” letter challenge (letter “R”) by Frizztext,
(“R” is for Robin and Ritual.)

Linking up with:
TEXTURE TUESDAY
NATURE NOTES
WILD BIRD WEDNESDAY
CAMERA CRITTERS
THE BIRD D’POT

58 responses to “Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement / Robin

  1. I love your photos. Growing up I was told annually that when you saw your first robin it was spring. Seeing your photos was such a reminder to loosen my grip, to start breathing normally again, to start and to relax and enjoy life.

  2. Very nice series of photos.
    I know what you mean about watching birds taking a bath. I could watch them for hours. I’ve even caught some having a dust bath (which actually looks really weird).
    The last photo is particularly lovely. I’ve never seen a Robin with that colour breast before.
    We only get the English Robins here in Australia (that were brought out by the first settlers in the 1800s – they are not an indigenous bird).

  3. Great series of photos! I see them bathe just about every day in the summer and always enjoy watching them. Other birds use the bath too, but the Robins seem to enjoy it more.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Movement – Trekking Through the Thai Jungle | Seas Reflecting Starlight

  5. Awwww…now that is so adorable! Stunning shots Fergie. I can see he truly enjoyed himself. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 *hugs*

  6. Nice shots – I’m working on birdscaping my garden – trying to find a place to put a bird bath so that I can photograph it!

    Cheers and thanks for linking to WBW

    Stewart M – Melbourne

  7. Wow … some show you gives us here – stunning photos and a cute bird – that like his SPA. Brilliant gallery. Just love the splashing shots … your know how to take action.

  8. Oh these photographs are just amazing! One of my favourite things is watching birds bathing! This sequence of photos is just brilliant! I particularly love the ones where we can just see frantic splashing and not much Robin! How he/she must have been enjoying it! And the very last one a picture of refreshed relaxation 🙂 – wonderful.

  9. Oh my! How lovely and precious. Your photos made me smile. Hats off to you for following the movements of the robin. I am sure you were way amused by him. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Nature Notes (#211) ~On cable TV they have a weather channel – 24 hours of weather. We had something like that where I grew up. We called it a window.~ Dan Spencer | ~RAMBLING WOODS~

Thanks so much for your comments!

