Graceful Peony – Woodblock Print

Single Peony - Woodblock
Single Peony – Woodblock, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<
delicate pink chicks
shielded by caressing arms
silken peony

>>:::<<

This image of a single peony is another photomanipulation I did to digitally convert a photo into the likeness of an old Japanese woodblock print.

Single peonies are composed of one or more rows of a few broad petals, known as guard petals, which surround a center of pollen-bearing stamens, which in turn surround the pistil.  I believe the name of this peony is Sea Shell.  I like how delicate and silky the petals are, and how the formation of stamens and pistils looks like a birds nest.

Hope your week is off to a splendid start!

Here is the original photo I started with:

Peony
Peony, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

.
Linking up with:
LETTER “W” Challenge by FRIZZTEXT (“W” is for Woodblock)
MACRO MONDAY
TUESDAY MUSE
NATURE NOTES
TEXTURE TUESDAY

Related posts:

31 responses to “Graceful Peony – Woodblock Print

  1. Wonderful print. When I was trying to find an “X” photo for Frizz’s X challenge I found the word for woodblock print is called “Xyloglyph”. I didn’t have a photo to show this but you have fulfilled the challenge of “W” and “X” in one post. Great job.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • “Painters must want to paint above all else. If the artist in front of the
      canvas begins to wonder how much he will sell it for, or what the critics will think of it, he won’t be able to pursue original avenues. Creative achievements depend on single-minded immersion.”
      – Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

  2. You’ve turned the flower into a lovely woodblock. I like the centre – it reminds me of little babies calling out (yes, I do have vivid imagination).
    I like the Haiku too. I’m really enjoying all your Haiku, having never actually read any (before your posts).

  3. I like Francine’s comment: “When I was trying to find an “X” photo for Frizz’s X challenge I found the word for woodblock print is called “Xyloglyph”. I didn’t have a photo to show this but you have fulfilled the challenge of “W” and “X” in one post. Great job…”

  4. Your processing of photos into woodblock prints are gorgeous. And you find subject that are perfect for the process. Lovely haiku too. Very nice work!

  5. Pingback: Nature Notes (#216) ~”Pollinators are a critical link in our food system. More than 85 percent of earth’s plant species – many of which compose some of the most nutritional parts of our diet – require pollinators to exist. | ~RAMBLING WOOD

Thanks so much for your comments!

