Hummingbird Profiles #1 – JOY

Hummingbird Profiles #1
Hummingbird Profiles #1, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<
rubies emeralds diamonds
precious gems dazzle in the sky
hummingbird splendor
>>:::<<

First of all, thank you very much for all the kind well wishes for my mother and our family in my recent postings.  I really appreciate and am touched by all your supportive and encouraging words.  Last week was hectic with more tests and procedures, but we are in the “waiting mode” right now – waiting for test results, waiting for surgery, etc., etc.  Cancer is a very wicked thing.

~~~~~

Last year, I created a few photomanipulations of hummingbird photos I took in our yard.  I intended to post them at the time, but I would develop a brain cramp whenever I tried to create a blog posting using the images…that is, until now.  It could be that now feels like the right time to post these images because hummingbirds symbolize what is needed so much right now:

A common symbolism of the hummingbird is JOY!
(Joy in Japanese is 喜び, which is read yorokobi.)

Tiniest of all birds, the hummingbird is quite spectacular.  It also symbolizes powerful energy, the ability to accomplish the seemingly impossible, and flexibility in life circumstances.  When in the air, their wings are continually in motion, which symbolizes tirelessness and perseverance.

I start off my hummingbird photomanipulation series today with an image of a male Broad-tailed hummingbird.  I find his pose sweet and adorable.  Also, my mother’s top two favorite colors are red and green, similar to the beautiful colors on this bird.

If you are in need of JOY today or at any time, I hope this image will bring you some.

Linking up with:
FRIZZTEXT “CCC” CHALLENGE – C is for Cancer
NATURE NOTES
MACRO MONDAY 2
WILD BIRD WEDNESDAY
TUESDAY MUSE

43 responses to “Hummingbird Profiles #1 – JOY

  1. Awesome picture!!!!!!!!!! They have sprayed toxic chemicals by the lake for skitters– & now our hummers are gone— the toxic chemicals I’m sure have sent them on their way some place else– as they have not eaten at their feeders for several weeks now!!!!! And I have to avoid the outside also because of the toxic chemicals!!!!! You & your Mother are in our prayers– Fergie!!!

  2. amo molto i colibrì, per la straordinaria bellezza e varietà dei loro colori per l’originalità del loro piccolo essere: quella di poter restare fermi con l’incredibile volume di battiti di ali, e quella di potere volare all’indietro
    grazie per questo bel post
    notte felice dall’Italia

  3. I love very much the hummingbirds, the extraordinary beauty and variety of their colours for the originality of their little being: the ability to stand still with the incredible volume of wing flaps and fly directional power
    Thanks for this nice post
    night happy from Italy

    I think it will be difficult to understand so I thought I’d translate

  4. Beautiful image, Fergiemoto.
    Looks like the original must have been a particularly good photo to work with.

    Heartfelt wishes for improvement in both you and your Mother.

    The ‘waiting’ game seems to go on forever in these kind of health situations – hope things progress in a positive manner soon.

    Best Wishes
    Vicki

  5. Oh they are joyful birds. can’t help but smile whenever I see one and they remind me of my grandmother. My thoughts are with you during this stressful time-waiting is never easy.

  6. Definitely brings joy to my heart seeing this post Fergie. What a beautiful photo!

    I do so wish we were privileged to see hummingbirds here.
    And your fabulous poem to go with the image just completes the wcene perfectly. Your talent is precious.

    Hugs xx

  7. Definitely brings joy to my heart seeing this post Fergie. What a beautiful photo!

    I do so wish we were privileged to see hummingbirds here.
    And your fabulous poem to go with the image just completes the wcene perfectly. Your talent is precious.

    Hugs xx

  8. I hope your strong connection to the optimism of the birds will support you with the strength you need, walking through your personal hard times …
    your Frizz…

  9. What a lovely drawing Fergi! And your beautiful haiku is perfect as a companion. Hoping things by you are settling a bit – and you and your mom are feeling ok ~ Sending much Love dearest one ~ x Robyn

  10. Waiting can be stressful. Thank you so much for taking time to post this beautiful artwork you did! Enjoy reading about the 喜び.
    My thoughts are with you and your mother. Take care.

  11. First of all thank you for your visit on my site. Your edited images are quite nice. Also strength with your mother. The same made with my wife. Stay positive is what you can keep going. Strength

  12. Pingback: Nature Notes (#221) ~Every day I see or hear something that more or less kills me with delight…~Mary Oliver | ~RAMBLING WOODS~

Thanks so much for your comments!

