Y! Challenge: Young, Yearling

Bambi
Bambi, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)
Linking up with Windows on Wildlife Nature Notes,  Rural ThursdayTexture Tuesday and Our World Tuesday

>>:::<<
birdsongs embrace my eyes
landscapes caress my ears
a newborn emerges
>>:::<<

Yearling:  an animal that is one year old or in the second year of its age.

I took this photo on June 21, 2011, almost one year ago.  On that day, as I was photographing some baby robins in a nest in one of our large trees (see a previous posting), I saw this tiny Bambi wobble towards our yard and nestle down amongst the weeds.  We live in a wooded area in the mountains, so it is typical to have mule deer in our yard daily.  These weeds were only a few inches tall and I figured Bambi was a newborn since it was very unstable on its feet.  It was certainly the smallest one I had seen.  Fortunately I had my camera with me and walked towards Bambi, taking photos the whole time.  It didn’t notice me until I was a few yards away, and then instinctively froze and sat motionless as I approached.  When I was less than 10 feet away, Bambi decided I was too close for comfort, got up, and wobbled slowly away.  Mama was nowhere in sight during this whole time.  I was happy about the photo opportunities I had that day!

The doe-fawn bond is very strong and fawns are rarely abandoned.  The mother (doe) will rarely be seen near her fawn during the first few weeks of its life, except at mealtimes for feeding, because her presence may attract predators. The fawn, with its white spots, is well camouflaged and has very little odor, which helps it hide from predators. The spots begin to fade by the end of the first month.  Fawns instinctively lie motionless when approached by a potential predator.  This seemingly helpless state is a behavioral adaptation that has helped deer survive for ages. Once the fawn grows stronger, it will follow the doe while she forages.  (www.dnr.state.md.uswww.desertusa.com)

This “young” Bambi will be one year old in two days from the date of this posting.  Then it will be referred to as a “yearling.”  I don’t know which deer this Bambi is now since we had several frolicking in our “yard” last year.

This post is for the “Y” Challenge by Frizztext (“Y” is for Young, Yearling, Yard)

44 responses to “Y! Challenge: Young, Yearling

  1. thanks for your little story!
    “…It didn’t notice me until I was a few yards away, and then instinctively froze and sat motionless as I approached. When I was less than 10 feet away, Bambi decided I was too close for comfort, got up, and wobbled slowly away…”

  2. What a lovely photo of something that all too soon eats up the vegetable garden – at least that is my experience!

  3. Thank you for caring about pollinators…and I loved this little one when I first saw it… Hope it made it till this year…so sweet..Thank you for a adding such cuteness to Nature Notes…Michelle

  4. Wow – amazing shot of this baby. And those ears are unbelievable! We only have white-tailed deer out here; I’ve never seen a baby mule deer before – unmistakable!

    Thanks for linking up with Windows on Wildlife; love the addition!

  5. Pingback: Windows on Wildlife: Red Squirrel : Withywindle Nature

Thanks so much for your comments!