“U” Challenge: Unusual, Unexpected

Speed Limit?
Speed Limit?, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  Click on photo to enlarge.

>>:::<<
Precision must be very important in this area!
>>:::<<

.
We came across these unusual speed limit signs recently and wondered if this was the result of someone’s sense of humor.  I have to admit, I am a bit confused, especially with the subsequent sign above that reads “Beware of Signs.”  I wonder how these speeds are enforced.  Does anyone know if police radars measure vehicle speed to this precision?

.

Due to a recent car accident and aggravation of existing chronic pain and other health issues, I have been less active on WordPress lately, including visiting your great blogs.  My speed limit had been reduced significantly before the accident, and is much lower right now, perhaps even to a fraction of a speed.  Thank you for your patience – I will gradually get back into it.  Things can certainly change unexpectedly in an instant.
.

This is for the letter “U” Story Challenge by Frizztext, to share a short story or reflection, even an aphorism using a word tagged with each letter of the alphabet.

 

78 responses to ““U” Challenge: Unusual, Unexpected

  1. Sorry to hear about your accident, hope you soon will speed up again (you know what I mean) – police can measure extremely accurate with their equipment – but it is questionable whether they do it like this, because there are always deducted a specific factor of uncertainty – it can be 5, 8, or 10 percent, depending on which country we are talking about… 🙂

    • Thank you so much, Le Drake Noir! I’m hoping to be able to speed up soon! I won’t be breaking speed limits, but it sure would be nice to have that ability!
      Thanks for the information in the equipment.

  2. Definitely some weird signs, never seen one those precise before. Must be a joke?

    I’m sorry to hear about the accident, Fergie. Praying for your speedy recovery and better health.

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement and prayer, Gracie! It will take time.
      Yes, I’ve not seen that type of precision before, but it sure does seem like someone’s sense of humor.

    • Thank you so much, Amy! I appreciate the nice well wishes. Yes, baby steps back to where I was before the accident, and then continuing on with my regular therapy from there.

  3. My guess is, there might be the original figure 25km limit, what ever the reason —– then converted into nearest convenient figure in Miles, hence 15 and 3/4.

    But, guessing from a tower structure far down, isn’t this place for skiing when it’s covered with snow ? —– the sign might be for that purpose.

  4. Love the images of signs. I think someone has a great sense of humour.

    Sorry to hear about your car accident. Hope there’s no lasting injuries. I know you have chronic pain like me, so just hope it hasn’t exacerbated it too much. When you have chronic pain for years, it doesn’t take much to tip you into an episode which takes weeks/months to recover from.

    Sending lots of healing thoughts your way and good wishes for a speedy recovery. Rest, rest & more rest is important.

    Vicki
    x

    • Yes, a sense of humor is the only conclusion I could come to. It is near a landfill, so they probably needed some sort of levity.

      Thank you so much for the well wishes. The fortunate thing is that I was already under therapy for neck, hip and many other physical issues, so I have good counseling on what to do and not to do. It will take 4 to 6 weeks to heal the injury and then I can continue with the regular therapy. You are so right about the exacerbation. My neck was already weak and vulnerable and had undergone surgery before, so it didn’t take much to injure it.
      It’s so good to see you back in the blogging world, Vicki. Hope you got some rest and are feeling better from your latest health issue.

    • Hi Marina! Thanks for asking. I have a long list of places with chronic pain including neck/shoulders (prior surgery), hip, pelvis, headaches, etc., etc. A whiplash injury was not good for an already vulnerable neck and hip.

      I got a chuckle out of those signs.

  5. Take your time for recovering! Visiting blogs shouldn’t be viewed as a duty, but as an invitation. Don’t worry, don’t try to make speed, slow down and go that one way…into the direction of restoring your health. Hug from Paula.

  6. I’d sure be very wary of driving in that area. I get in trouble with the regular speed limits and these are terrifyingly precise 🙂 Sorry to hear about your accident. wishing for your full recovery soon. take care.

  7. Definitely strange to see… pretty sure lots of people actually stop to make sure they read well… or take pictures, as you did!
    Wish you good recovery and happy wanderings again soon!

    by the way, since I’m always happy to read you and from you, I’ve nominated you for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award! Please read here for more details on how to spread it around if you wish to accept it. http://lespetitspasdejuls.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/theres-a-great-reader-in-each-and-everyone-of-us/

    Have a wonderful day!
    Jul’

  8. Oh, so sorry to hear of your accident, Fergiemoto, and prayers for you to make a full recovery. Take care of yourself.

    It is hard enough to go 15 mph let alone 15 3/4! How strange, but makes for a fascinating photo.

    Healing and hugs, Diane

  9. i too was sorry to read about your accident a few moments ago. makes this funny post hit a bit close to home for you…. do take care & i pray your recovery is much quicker than you could hope for.

  10. These are the sorts of signs you could see in Australia, especially the Outback where often weird people like to live! Yes, I know, it’s not a judgement, but a fact of life! LOL. Perhaps those signs are there to tell you something about the locals…not the speed limit!
    PS: Get well soon. I’ll still be here, not goin’ anywhere…. :O)

    • Thank you so much Janina. I appreciate the well wishes and sticking with me! Still a long ways to go even outside the accident, but it will move in the right direction.

  11. Thank you for sharing this peculiar signs , Fergie. I’m sorry to hear you were in a car accident. Wishing you a speedy recovery. Take care of your self.
    Francina

    • Thank you so much, Madhu! I appreciate the well wishes. Still not very active on WordPress and probably will still be a sporadic blogger for a while, but I pop in now and then to visit blogs. I’ll visit your lovely blog soon.

  12. Fergie, I’m just catching up with you here and so sorry to hear about the accident and your other health challenges. Hope you are healing up – just take good care of yourself please. I appreciate your blog a great deal, and our connection here on WP. Wishing you all the best, and relief from pain ASAP!

    • Thanks so much, Betty! I really appreciate your well wishes and support. I also appreciate our WP connection and your wonderful, insightful and moving poetry. Healing generally takes longer with me, and now moreso given I already had health issues and lots of pain. It’s moving slowly in the right direction though. How are you doing?

      • Fergie, I hope you’re doing better and better! I know about the slow healing with pain and injury when we already have multiple health issues. But like you, I’m slowly moving in the right direction. Lots of patience required! 🙂

Thanks so much for your comments!