Z! Challenge: Zygomorphic Flower

Peach Iris
Peach Iris, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)
Linking up with Macro Monday, Texture Tuesday, Nature Notes and Our World Tuesday

>>:::<<
soft, silken scarf
offers gentle cradling
a blossom’s grand entrance
>>:::<<

Zygomorphic flower:   A flower that can be divided into equal halves along only one line; bilaterally symmetrical. The flowers of the iris, orchid and the snapdragon are zygomorphic

This post is for the “Z” Challenge by Frizztext.

47 responses to “Z! Challenge: Zygomorphic Flower

  1. Very pretty….thank you for the suggestion for flax seed oil for my eyes. I also have dry eye along with my other autoimmune issues and it seems that it take a long time for me to clear any kind of infection….Michelle

  2. Beautiful flower and I learned something. However, I’m not sure if this word will stick with me and roll off my tongue during a conversation at the pub 🙂

  3. thanks for the English lesson (I’m German you know):
    “Zygomorphic flower: A flower that can be divided into equal halves along only one line; bilaterally symmetrical…”

  4. I love the iris, they grew wide along the water canals where I used to live. They are so delicate, and their petals just amazing! Great shot! Yx

Thanks so much for your comments!