Hummingbird Profiles #4 – Amazing 素晴らしい

Hummingbird Profiles #4
Hummingbird Profiles #4, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (click on photo to enlarge)

>>:::<<
endlessly enduring
achieving the amazing
single parent
>>:::<<

I’m finally able to catch a few moments to post and visit a few blogs today.  Although I haven’t been able to respond to each of your comments, I continue to appreciate all your kind words, encouragement, visits and likes.  Thank you.

We hit more bumps in the road recently with my mother’s health, and her cancer chemotherapy treatments had to be postponed two times in a row now.  In addition, there is more cancer growth, another metastasized spot detected from an MRI scan taken a little over a week ago, more procedures, and radiation.  We continue to hope that we will receive some bit of good news in the near future, instead of worsening news.  These still remain scary, hectic, and gut wrenching times.

~~~~~

Here is the fourth image in my hummingbird photomanipulation series I did last year.  This is a female broad-tailed hummingbird.  An image of the male broad-tailed hummingbird was posted here.  Hummingbirds in general are quite amazing, and their dense, cuplike nests have been described as “amazing architectural creations that protect and nurture some of the most delicate birds.”  Hummingbird nests are built by the female, entirely by the female bird, spending several hours a day for up to a week collecting materials to build the nest.  Also, the females raise the chicks – single parenting.  The male hummingbirds are not involved in raising the young after the act of copulation is complete.

I continue to dedicate this hummingbird series to my mother.  My mother, who became divorced and a single parent when I was too young to remember, raised, supported and nurtured me, AND worked full time and multiple jobs to provide for me.  She has overcome many hardships over the years, and is one of the most compassionate, sincere and generous people I know.  She is also one of the most AMAZING and beautiful people I know!

I’m including two Japanese words to represent “amazing”

素晴らしい  (すばらしい), which is read subarashi
(superb; fantastic; marvelous; wonderful; terrific; amazing; great)

and

凄い  (すごい), which is read sugoi
(amazing – of strength; great – of skills; wonderful; terrific;)

.

Linking up with:
MACRO MONDAY 2
THE BIRD D’POT
CAMERA CRITTERS
NATURE NOTES
“S” CHALLENGE by FRIZZTEXT


47 responses to “Hummingbird Profiles #4 – Amazing 素晴らしい

  1. My dear dear FM, the only thing I can wish you is that the beauty of your work fills in all those negative spots and erases them and sends them off in shame. From my heart, you have my best thoughts and admiration. 🙂

  2. Nice to see you posting again, Fergiemoto.

    I think this is my favourite of your hummingbird images so far. It’s so beautiful, delicate and is a great tribute to your Mother.

    I’m sorry to hear the news isn’t good with the MRI (or delayed chemo.), but know that there are many thinking of you and your family at this difficult time. I know you have your own health problems to deal with too. Try hard to breathe deeply and let all that tension and emotion out, rather than keep it in. Hard I know.

    Sending Healing Thoughts across the miles.
    Vicki
    x

    • Thank you so, so much, Vicki! I do appreciate all your kind words and continual heartfelt encouragement! I know you are struggling a great deal and please know I am thinking of you also. Hugs!
      🙂

  3. Such a beautiful painting and loving dedication to your mother!

    Please consider yourself officially invited to participate this year’s 5th Annual Gratitude (word) Quilt. Instructions (it is very simple) and a link that explains the origin of the word quilt can be found at the top of my blog. In past years there have been participants from every continent except Antarctica. I hope you’ll join us:-)

  4. This is such an inspiring image; your work shows a delicacy and yet strength of the hummingbird, one of Nature’s most beautiful creatures. Best wishes for your mother, and for you too! 🙂

  5. It’s beautiful and I loved learning more about the females and their dedication. My thoughts are with you and I have my fingers crossed for good news to come your way soon

  6. “…My mother,
    who became divorced and a single parent
    when I was too young to remember,
    raised, supported and nurtured me,
    AND worked full time and multiple jobs
    to provide for me…”

  7. This is just stunning Fergie and it quite takes my breath away. And I love too how you are dedicating the series to your lovely mum. I so verymuch hope and pray that you receive some positive news for her soon. Thinking about you both. I know that sounds like a platitude but believe me,I do mean it. Xx

    • Thank you so much, Christine! I really do believe you. Please know that I am also thinking of you as I know you are dealing with a great deal of struggles yourself. Keep up the poetry. I do enjoy visiting your blog and reading your creativity.

  8. Pingback: A-Z Challenge-SSS | WoollyMuses

  9. Pingback: Nature Notes (#236) Nature always wears the colors of the spirit.~ Ralph Waldo Emerson | ~RAMBLING WOODS~

  10. A beautiful work of an amazing bird! Last night, I saw a program on TV called Wild Planet set in the deserts of North America and, of course, it included some hummingbirds. They were wonderful, and I loved the sound their wings made especially when they flew away, like muffled exhausts of a motorbike! Iridescent. Beautiful.

Thanks so much for your comments!