K! Challenge: Kingdom

Crows Kingdom
Crows Kingdom, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (Click on image to enlarge).
Crows Kingdom BW
Crows Kingdom BW, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (Click on image to enlarge).
Linking up with Nature NotesCreative Exchange, World Bird Wednesday and  Texture Tuesday.

>>:::<<
One’s desertion is
another creature’s kingdom.
Renewed habitat.
>>:::<<

I took this photo this past weekend on the way back from a short road trip.  The nest in the large tree to the left belongs to the two crows you see flying.  (The same photo is in both color and BW.)

I’m posting this image for the “K” Challenge by Frizztext (“K” is for Kingdom)

57 responses to “K! Challenge: Kingdom

  1. Hi,
    I love how you posted the colour photo and then the black and white. This particular photo I think looks good in black and white. It looks like a photo you would use on a book cover with a supernatural theme, a brilliant photo.

  2. I hate questions like this….both images please me. As to which I prefer – well I guess it would depend upon where it was to be used. The colour image for the wall most likely whilst the B&W for a coffee table book!

  3. Pingback: A-Z Archive: K! Challenge « jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

  4. This abandoned barn is truly a palace from which to rule their kingdom for these two crows! I saw much of this growing up on the country in Mississippi! Excellent choice for this “K” challenge! Entire volumes are expressed here. Thank you!

  5. I really like the feeling of abandonment in both the colour and the B+W. Undoubtly the crows are central to the feeling also.Boom & Gary of the Vermilon River, Canada.

  6. This is such a tough decision, but I think I like the first one better.
    This is a beautiful old structure, and you have photographed it wonderfully.

    Thank you so very much for being a part of The Creative Exchange!

    lisa.

  7. There is something different I like about each of these photos, but I think the one in color is actually my favorite! Great shots and wonderful mood created… : )

  8. How neat to find a crows nest..I like both photos, they each have unique feeling about them and it’s so true…what is cast off is used by something else…Thank you for adding this creative post to this week’s Nature Notes…Michelle

  9. What this reminds me of was when a friend, who was heading the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation at the time, during an illness that later took his life, told me that he had a lot of hope for the earth. He said that he had been out exploring the countryside around Spring Green, Wisconsin where Taliesin East is located, and he came upon an old farmhouse that was collapsing back to the earth. He told me that man is only temporary, that time and the earth comes along and reclaims what man in hubris thought was his and heals the scars of man’s accomplishments. He told that in that thought was his hope. Wonderful photos; wonderful haiku.

  10. Hi Fergiemoto,
    I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I know you’ve probably been awarded before but you’re really truly versatile and who says you can’t win again? Congratulations and thanks for a great blog.

  11. Both color and B&W, they are great photographs.
    I really love the composition.
    And the balance, even including the position of two black bird in the sky.
    All are perfect!

Thanks so much for your comments!