Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

Unfocused
Unfocused, a photo by Fergiemoto on Flickr.  (Click on image to enlarge).

I am still learning.
               ~~Michelangelo

There is certainly no shortage of out-of-focus photos I’ve taken.  Few have been intentional, most have been unintentional.  This one is unintentional, and you can see where the camera focus was for this photo (right).  The unfocused birds are a Great Blue Heron and a Seagull.  The reflection in the water of the birds are also unfocused.

This is another photo taken a few weeks ago at the Bear River Migratory Bird Refuge.

Other postings from this bird refuge:

Other interpretations for this week’s challenge:

48 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused | Wind Against Current

  2. The wing on the left amazing… it makes the photograph so impressive… Interesting shot. I loved it, dear Fergie. Thank you and also Thank you for your words on my emotional poem yesterday, you are so nice. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

  3. Like this one very much. It makes me think about the times in my life when I’ve been so focused on the peripheral, I’ve failed to see clearly what’s in front of me.

    Is it OK if I share this on my facebook page? – not just because of its beauty, but because I selfishly want to be able to study it in order to write about what it brings up for me. I won’t take your image, just use it for inspiration, and will share the finished product with you. It may take a while, because for me a poem often has to grow.

  4. Hi,
    Actually it is not that bad a photo I rather like it. The wing span that you captured is magnificent, you can make out the the different colours in the feathers where the black finishes and white begins.

  5. It might be unintentional, but I like the cutting of the stork (?) and the unfocused birds in the background. It’s quite a different picture than I have ever seen, and that’s is great.

  6. if there was more of the pelican it would have worked well. Live and learn but it is still intriguing. Keep having fun, it is so nice to have them back again.:)

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  8. My son enjoys intentionally shooting pictures that have all but one small portion unfocused, to draw more attention to the part that is sharply in focus. I really love this one, as I am such a lifelong bird lover.

  9. The wing in focus does exaggerate the softness of the rest of the image. Lovely entry! Love your other images from this refuge as well.

  10. Yours is the first “unfocused” challenge that I have liked, probably because you’re the only one who, in my opinion, understood that the purpose wasn’t to go out and take a bunch of unfocused pictures. Rather, it was to explore the depth of field, which your photo shows well, and uniquely, with it’s focus on the partial bird at right. I think it’s a pretty cool shot.

Thanks so much for your comments!